​​Houghton Lake
DNR Lakeview Park

October 7, 2017
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
50/50 Drawing, Raffle, & Cash Tables

Tickets for a 50/50 drawing and miscellaneous raffles will be sold during Registration. These raffles will pay for the costs ($200) of renting the Convention Center. Any additional money beyond $200 collected will be added to the Classic Pot. Tickets will be sold during Registration. 

Upon conclusion of the Meeting, Cash Tables to play Texas Hold'em will be held. Profit from these will also be added to the Classic Pot.​​ Volunteers to bring poker chips are needed!

All activities will end at 9:30.​​

The R & B Bass Circuit pays back 100%. Thus, every dollar that has been collected by both divisions throughout the season will be paid back at this event. Our account will have $0.00 October 9. To view how much many has been collected, visit the Payback page.

​​Cost to participate is $70.

A regular season tournament pays back 1 spot for every 5 teams, but the classic will payback 1 spot for every 4 teams with a maximum of 10 paid spots. Money has been added to the pot after each tournament and every dollar from the membership fee has also been added. To see how much has been collected, check out the Payback page.

The Big Bass Awards will remain the same as during a normal tournament.

There are two ways to qualify for the classic. Each division will follow this criteria:

1. Any team who has participated in all 6 regular-season tournaments automatically qualifies regardless of their finish in the Year-to-Date Standings.
2. The top 50% of teams, from an average field of a regular season tournament, in final standings will qualify for the classic. For example: we currently average 51 teams per tournament, thus, the top 26 teams in the standings will qualify. Any team who finished higher than 26th place, but participated in all 6 tournaments still qualifies.

However, Tournament Directors do not count. If directors are fortunate to finish in the top 50%, they will not take a team out of the tournament. Hence, in the example above, if directors finished 5th place overall, the top 27 teams would actually qualify.
Rules & Boat Order

There will be no rule changes from the regular-season tournaments with the exception of starting order and length. The starting order will be determined by the final Standings. The top team will be boat #1. With the two divisions coming together, the division with the highest average turnout will take the top place in the take off. For example, if the West Division has a better turnout than the east, their season champion will be boat #1, while the East's season champion will be boat #2. Then the West's runner up team will be boat #3, and the East's will be #4, and so on.

Since Registration and the Pre-Tournament meeting will be conducted Friday night, teams should launch immediately upon arrival. Boat #1 will take off promptly at 8:00. If a team is not present when their number is called, they will be sent to the back of the line! To​​ insure an 8:00 take off​​, it is vital all teams arrive early.​​

The tournament will be 8 hours long.

Approximately 4 hours north of South Bend, Indiana, Lakeview Park is on the southern end of Houghton Lake in Houghton Lake, Michigan.

It is located on ​​M-55, just 2.5 mi east of US-127 and 12 mi west of I-75.

Use the map to find your best route. ​​
Starting Order:
Fishing Report

Houghton Lake is an outstanding smallmouth and largemouth bass fishery. With a surface area of 20,044 acres, Houghton Lake is Michigan’s largest inland lake. There is a maximum depth of just 21 feet and an average depth of less than nine feet. Thus, Houghton Lake contains extensive shallow water areas suitable for rooted plant growth.

The shoreline of Houghton Lake is over 35 miles long. It is over five miles wide and eight miles long. Strong winds can produce large waves.

​​A great source of information on the area, fishing, and bait shops can be found on the Houghton Lake Area Tourism and Convention Bureau website. 

Houghton Lake and all connecting waters will become off limits at 5:00 pm October 6. No Exceptions!

The R & B Bass Circuit has arranged a nightly rate of $59.99 at ​​American Inn & Suites. Make reservations via phone, not online, under "R and B Bass Circuit" to receive the special rate. To insure a room, make reservations far in advance. There is sufficient space 
on campus for parking boats and electrical outlets.

There are only a handful of other hotels around the lake for a reasonable price. For a comparison the Super 8 is $93.00 a night. The next closest hotels are about 20 miles north in Grayling, Michigan. ​​
Registration & Pre-Tournament Meeting

Pre-registration is mandatory and will be held Friday night at Lakeside Resort Conference Center in Houghton Lake. Registration will take place between 7-7:30 pm.

​​At 7:30 the Pre-Tournament meeting will be conducted.​​ If a team cannot register during the official time, a member from a different team may register them, or arrangements may be made in advance with Tournament Directors. Without exception, a team must be paid in full by 7:30 pm Friday, October 6

During this meeting the Season Champions for each division will receive their recognition and prizes, winners for the 50/50 and Raffles will be drawn, and any pertinent information on the tournament will be announced.

A restaurant and bar are on location and open for business during Registration.
R & B Bass Circuit Classic

The 2017 Classic is being presented by Megaware Keelguard​​. Along with product being given away, they are donating $1,000 to qualifying teams!

It will be distributed as follows: ​​
  • The top finishing team with a KeelGuard installed will win $500
  • ​The top finishing team with a SkegGuard installed will win $250
  • The top finishing team with a FlexStep installed will win $250
Teams do not need to win the event to cash in. In fact, they can finish in the 30's so long as they are the top team with the product installed. Teams must register their products during Registration Friday night (see below) and photo of product will be taken at weigh-in.

Purchase of these products can be done online at Megaware Keelguard, and members can get 15% off their purchase with a Promotional Code. Cards with these codes will be distributed at each tournament beginning August 12 at the Waldron Chain. To order before that event, contact Andy Buss to receive a code.​​
1. Bear Griva & Mike Klavinski
2. Mark Farver & Steve Kline
3. Teddy Bradley & Mark Fennell
Andrew Quillen & Heath Wagner
Jason Schwartz & Brian Miller
Doyle Randol & Frank Randol
Andy Buss & John DuPont
Larry Stanley & Dave Terry
Ray Smith & Jim Wheeler
Chad Walter & Lance Tresenriter
John Gipson, Jr. & Tom Noe
Denny Cook & Rick Sawyer
Brandon Miller & Kevin Miller
Don Amari & Kevin Rathke 
Trevor Paulus & Dave Selig
Tyler Burton & Dick Peiserich
Shaun Callaway  Jeremy Larson
Don Bobay & Paul Hollabaugh
Steve Januchowski & Matt Osoinsiski
Craig Fannin & Rodney Fannin
Steve Prange & Josh Stalcup
Cory Gaff & Bill Sutton​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Brian Mitchell & Gary Price
24. Mike Lytle & Colin Maple
25. Jeremiah King & Cole Schultz
26. Jon Hall & John Marquardt
27. Dave Hoffman & Mike Mini​​x
28. Frank Berning & Nick Klopfenstein
29. Matt Gardenour & Josh Ware
30. Jim Dobkins & Tony Fields​​​​​
31. Jim Betts & Rob Hayes
32. Randy Kafka & Jason Klingerman
33. Ryan Deveau & Troy Taylor​​​
34. Aaron Brubaker & Ken Holder
35. Scott Sizemore & Ryan Kline
36. Landon Baker & Matt Kiefer
37. Bob Bruick & Aaron Krider
38. Joe DeNardo & Rick Ponder
39. Duane Hartman & Mike Miller
40. Tim Jones & James Pantell
41. Andrew Troyer & Jay Troyer
42. Tim Pugh & Dan Truex
43. Jim Graham & Greg Rekeweg
44. John Leader & Brian Souza
45. Chris Mynhier & Chip Troyer​​​​​​​​​​​​​